Plot Elastic Scattering Cross Section for Mesitylene at 20K (Including S(a,b))

Hi there,

I am new to OpenMC and I would like to plot the cross section for a cold mesitylene moderator at 20K. An S(a,b) table exists in the JEFF3.3 library for this material to ensure a proper description of the elastic cross section for neutrons with energies less than 9.85 eV. I saw instructions for creating plots from Incident Neutron data alone. I am aware that the S(a,b) table can be read using ThermalScattering function on OpenMC and I was able to get it to read the S(a,b) table for mesitylene at 20K. How do I go about plotting the elastic cross section, where I include the correction to the elastic cross section using the S(a,b) table?

Thanks in advance for any tips.

Kind regards,
Dalini

Hi @dmaharaj and welcome to the community! Here’s a short code you could use to plot the mesitylene elastic cross section at 20K:

import openmc.data
import numpy as np
import matplotlib.pyplot as plt

tsl = openmc.data.ThermalScattering.from_hdf5('c_H_in_Mesitylene.h5')

# Create a grid a energies from 1e-5 eV to the max energy of the S(a,b) table
energies = np.logspace(np.log10(1e-5), np.log10(tsl.energy_max))

# Get cross section object
elastic_xs = tsl.elastic.xs['20K']

# Evaluate cross sections at each energy and plot
xs = elastic_xs(energies)
plt.loglog(energies, xs)
plt.xlabel('Energy [eV]')
plt.ylabel('Cross section [b]')
1 Like

Dear @paulromano,

Thanks for the intro to the forum, and even bigger thanks for sharing this script with me to unpack the TSL data and plot it. This is helpful as I am also new to object oriented programming and I expect learning OpenMC will provide an opportunity to expand my skills.

Best wishes,
Dalini

1 Like

Dear @paulromano,