First-time contributors

Hi all,

I am a student at the University of Michigan and I’m taking a Software Engineering course here. Our last homework is to contribute to an open-source project and my partner and I have decided to try contributing to OpenMC for the next couple of weeks!

We would really appreciate any feedback or information that may be helpful to us during this process. Our initial plan was to take a look at Issue #2123 (Weight window bounds ordering · Issue #2123 · openmc-dev/openmc · GitHub). However, during the process of reading through the Developer’s Guide, we found that two issues were tagged for first time contributors. We would also appreciate your opinion on our contribution to Issue #2123 and whether or not there may be better issues for us to work on.

Thank you.

We were also unable to join the slack for OpenMC because we did not have an email domain that matched. Would it be helpful for us to join the slack or is it okay that we are unable to be on it?

Hi ywkim1025

Welcome to the community.

I did take a look at the two issues labeled as “first timers only” and I’m wondering if those issues are slightly out of date now as they were made in 2017 and 2018.

I’m sure we can find you a nice issue to work on. I think @April was making a nice collection of “first timer” issues just today.

Perhaps we can raise a couple of issues for you and tag you on GitHub. Could you let us know your GitHub usernames?

Something that jumps to mind as straight forward and always welcome is additional type hinting on the python arguments. It is not the most interesting PR but helps get an overview of the code. If you are keen you could add some type hinting to any python file that is missing type hinting. Take a look in this folder to find a relevant file.