Request for a build of OpenMC 0.13.0 with HDF5 1.10.6

Hello everyone,

I am a grad student at UIUC working on a molten salt reactor depletion simulator called SaltProc. Specifically, I am extending SaltProc to enable depletion with OpenMC. I am using the newest version of OpenMC (0.13.0) because it has several very useful convenience functions that I’d like to preserve if possible, and since the API has already changed from 0.12.2 it makes sense to have SaltProc support the newest version out of the box.

SaltProc uses Serpent (and OpenMC soon) to deplete the fuel, runs it through reprocessing infrastructure, and iterates on this procedure until the user-specified runtime is reached. SaltProc uses the PyNE Material class to store material info and run decay calculations. The default behavior when running conda install -c conda-forge pyne is to also install OpenMC 0.12.2.

I have a PR for the first collection of changes for OpenMC ready to go (barring pep8 fixes), but one of my unit tests is failing. This is because the syntax I’m using in that unit test (Tallies.from_xml()) exists in OpenMC 0.13.0 but not 0.12.2. I tried to install OpenMC 0.13.0 in the same conda environment as PyNE and SaltProc but ran into a solver error.

Encountered problems while solving:
  - package pyne-0.7.5-moab_openmcpy39hcbc5909_0 requires hdf5 >=1.10.6,<1.10.7.0a0, but none of the providers can be installed

I opened issue 1443 in the PyNE repo to discuss this. One of the PyNE devs told me that the solver error is due to the fact that PyNE needs an older version of libgfortran, and HDF5 1.12.0 is built with a newer version, so the newest version that PyNE can use is HDF5 1.10.6. They suggested the idea of disabling the Fortran components in PyNE to allow using a newer version of HDF5.