[New User] Looking for instructions to run an example "out-of-box"

Hi,

I am a Computer Scientist interested in OpenMC from a CS systems research point-of-view. I am looking to run a “typical” OpenMC example - a typical small problem that can be run on one node using OpenMP. I am just interested in profiling OpenMC, and do not intend to use the OpenMC API in any way directly.

I am trying to get the “pincell” example running, but I am unable to find the “cross_sections.xml” file anywhere in the OpenMC github repository. From the docs, I have figured out that I need some HDF5 files that describe the nuclide properties, and have been able to download the “nndc” directory with files in the .ace format. I have been unable to use the openmc-ace-to-hdf5 script succesfully on these .ace files.

I would be grateful if someone could help point out how I can generate the cross_sections.xml file from these .ace files for the “pincell” example. Any help would be much appreciated.

Regards,
Srinivasan Ramesh

Hi,
Sorry for this post - it seems that I was not following the documentation closely enough. I am able to get the cross_sections.xml file successfully. Kindly ingore this post.

Regards,
Srinivasan Ramesh

Hi Srinivasan,

I’ve attached a tarball with a single assembly model that should be suitable for your needs. One thing to note when doing performance analysis is that the run is divided into “inactive” and “active” batches. The distribution of fission source sites has to be iterated on until it reaches stationarity; at that point, the code can being tallying physical quantities of interest. Having tallies turned on during “active” batches means that the performance (number of particles simulalated per second) will be lower than during the “inactive” batches, where no tallies are being accumulated. If you want consistent numbers across the entire run, you can just remove tallies (by making sure there is no tallies.xml file in your directory).