Issue with lost particles from DAGMC geometry

I’m new to OpenMC, following @Shimwell 's tutorial, specifically a variant of this notebook.

I have created a SphericalShell geometry in paramak and exported it as DAGMC: spherical_shell_example.h5m. DAGMC checks on the geometry show that it has no leaky surfaces or volumes.

Material assignments work fine (inner sphere as a D-T plasma) and I am placing a source in the middle:

my_settings.source = openmc_plasma_source.FusionPointSource(fuel="DT", temperature=20000.0, coordinate=(0,0,0))

Unfortunately, OpenMC only simulates a single batch because 100% of particles are lost. I’m baffled - suggestions welcome, please!

Welcome to the community

Happy to take a look at this, are you able to post the full edited example.

All the best

Jon

Thanks - here goes…

import openmc
import openmc_plasma_source as ops  
import openmc_tally_unit_converter as otuc
import neutronics_material_maker as nmm

filedir = '/path/to/file/'
filename = 'spherical_shell_example.h5m'

bound_dag_univ = openmc.DAGMCUniverse(filename=filedir+filename).bounded_universe()
my_geometry = openmc.Geometry(root=bound_dag_univ)

mat1 = nmm.Material.from_library(name='DT_plasma').openmc_material
mat1.name = 'sphere-plasma'
mat2 = nmm.Material.from_library(name='tungsten').openmc_material
mat2.name = 'sphere-fw'
mat3 = nmm.Material.from_library(name='lithium-lead',temperature=900.0).openmc_material
mat3.name = 'sphere-blanket'
mat4 = nmm.Material.from_library(name='SS_316L_N_IG').openmc_material
mat4.name = 'sphere-shield'

materials = openmc.Materials([mat1, mat2, mat3, mat4])

tally1 = openmc.Tally()
material_filter = openmc.MaterialFilter(mat3)  # the blanket material
tally1 = openmc.Tally(name='blanket_heating')
tally1.filters = [material_filter]
tally1.scores = ['heating']

my_tallies = openmc.Tallies([tally1])

my_settings = openmc.Settings(batches = 1, particles = 100, run_mode = 'fixed source')