I don't know how to build a cross section library.

Dear sir:
I am a student who has just contacted openmc. Recently downloaded openmc according to the official website of openmc.

I have successfully installed the openmc 0.10.0 version, the next step is to download a cross section library.

When I type “openmc-get-nndc-data” in the terminal, the error message in the following picture appears.

I found the same error in my old post on the forum, when you said that python can’t call openmc.

so,I typed python in the terminal and then type import openmc. No error was found.

how can I download the cross section library?Can you help me please?

Thank you very much!

In addition, my way to install openmc is to install Anaconda on ubuntu, and then enter the command in turn:
conda config --add channels conda-forge

conda install openmc

Hi Jiawei,

Happy to have you as a new user. You can download the NNDC data that has already been converted into the appropriate format for version 0.10.0 here:
https://anl.box.com/s/a6sw2cep34wlz6b9i9jwiotaqoayxcxt

Just unpack it and then set your OPENMC_CROSS_SECTIONS environment variable to the absolute path to the cross_sections.xml file within.

Best regards,
Paul

Hi Paul

I get the following error with these h5 files

Reading F19 from /home/jshim/openmc/nndc_hdf5/F19.h5
ERROR: HDF5 data format uses version 1.0 whereas your installation of OpenMC
expects version 2.x data.
ERROR STOP

I did a h5dump on the h5 files and they are in certainly version 1.

When I make my own using (python3 scripts/openmc-get-nndc-data) they are made in version 2 so I guess it depends on the hdf5 version is installed.

However it appears my openmc requires / demands version 2

Also I have another problem, when I make h5 files using the python3 scripts/openmc-get-nndc-data the resulting h5 files miss several MT numbers including mt205 (n,Xt)