CROSS_SECTIONS environment variable absolute path

Hello,
I am a beginner on openMC and new to this group.
When I try to run openmc with the sample tests, I get prompt “ERROR: No cross_sections.xml file was specified in settings.xml or in the CROSS_SECTIONS environment variable” all the time.
Could anyone tell me how to set the CROSS_SECTIONS environment variable? Or to say how to "set the CROSS_SECTIONS environment variable to the absolute path of the file openmc/data/nndc/cross_sections.xml"?

Thank you very much!

Hi Wang, Welcome to OpenMC!

what cross section library are you using? Or which one do you intend to use?

>I get prompt “ERROR: No cross_sections.xml file was specified …” all the time.
Please, take a look in this tread (Subject: Not Clear On How To Install Cross Sections)
https://groups.google.com/forum/#!searchin/openmc-users/matheusp/openmc-users/r1tq9zBGhww/2J6NmbIwH-4J

>Could anyone tell me how to set the CROSS_SECTIONS environment variable?
In the file settings.xml you can set like this (an extract from previous mail):

Hi,
Thanks for your help. I am using NNDC. It seems I have to change setting.xml even when I use the provided tests.Xinyan

Hi Xinyan,

Matheus has given a correct way to change the path of your cross_sections.xml file for a given input file (settings.xml). But to set it such that you don’t need to change each settings.xml file, you can use the environmental variables feature of your linux shell. To do this, perform the following (I will assume you are using Ubuntu with the default shell with these commands, let me know if that is not the case):

1. Find out the absolute path to your NNDC cross_sections.xml file. It will probably be /home//openmc/data/cross_sections.xml.