Tally derivatives

Hello, I’m new to using tally derivatives, and I wanted to ask a few questions since the documentation is a little sparse. I’ve been playing around with it, and it’s not necessarily behaving the way I expect.

Is the tally derivative in addition to the regular tally? i.e. If I want both the score and its derivative, do I need to create two separate tallies, or can I access both pieces of information from the same tally?

How do filters interact with the tally derivative? I see the derivative requires a material id. If I also use a mesh filter, will I expect different results in each bin?

What is the range covered by the temperature derivative? Should I recalculate the derivative for a different temperature profile, or is it robust across a large range?

I’m hoping @sterling_harper will see this and provide some help!

Thanks!
Miriam

Hey @mkreher13! I’ll try to give an answer but obviously @Sterling_Harper1 would know better.

Tally derivatives apply to all scores in the tally, so if you wanted a normal score and its derivative, you would indeed need to create two separate tallies.

Derivatives and filters operate completely independently of one another. Derivatives are applied to scores right before the point where they are accumulated in the tally, whereas filters provide a weighting factor that is computed independently (usually 1 or 0, but it can be something else – e.g., the fraction of a path within a given mesh element).

Good question; I’m not sure one can assume that it would be robust over a large range. I guess it would depend on the second derivative with respect to T. The best thing to do would be to test it out to see how the derivatives change with temperature.

I can chime in on this one! @paulromano just hit the first two points, but I’ll reply to them all for completeness.