Issues with parallel depletion and h5py

Openmc discourse forum
Hello all, I’m pretty new to using OpenMC and I am trying to run a depletion calculation on a HPC cluster with MPI and am having some issues. OpenMC and MPI are both installed on a Docker image I’m launching through Apptainer on the cluster. The problem may be with h5py, in which case sorry if this is the wrong place to ask.
I am trying to run a simple scenario in which I use add_transfer_rate to move some material from one cylinder to another in order. When I run this without using MPI (python FILENAME.py), it runs without issue. When I try to run it with the command given in the documentation (mpirun -n 4 python FILENAME.py) ((the same errors occur with mpirun and mpiexec), I get a variety of errors. With each attempt, the errors show up at different places and are different errors entirely sometimes. I have checked that h5py is installed with parallel capabilities (attached image), so it shouldn’t be that. However, the error messages do look like it’s having trouble operating in parallel.

Here is two sample error messages along with my code

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "flowtest.py", line 61, in <module>
    integrator.integrate()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.8/dist-packages/openmc/deplete/abc.py", line 838, in integrate
    StepResult.save(self.operator, n_list, res_list, [t, t + dt],
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.8/dist-packages/openmc/deplete/stepresult.py", line 570, in save
    results.export_to_hdf5(path, step_ind)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.8/dist-packages/openmc/deplete/stepresult.py", line 269, in export_to_hdf5
    with h5py.File(filename, **kwargs) as handle:
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.8/dist-packages/h5py/_hl/files.py", line 562, in __init__
    fid = make_fid(name, mode, userblock_size, fapl, fcpl, swmr=swmr)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.8/dist-packages/h5py/_hl/files.py", line 241, in make_fid
    fid = h5f.create(name, h5f.ACC_TRUNC, fapl=fapl, fcpl=fcpl)