Cross Section not found in certain file

Hello,

I am new to OpenMC and I was trying out the “Pincell Depletion” Jupyter example notebook. When I am trying to run the line

operator = openmc.deplete.Operator(geometry, settings, chain_file)

I get an error telling me “No cross_section.xml specified in materials”. But a couple lines above the operator line I set:

xsec_path = ‘path to cross section directory/1cross_section.xml’
materials.cross_sections = xsec_path
materials.export_to_xml()

I checked the materials.xml file and the path to the 1cross_section.xml file shows up. Also using the exact same code for the “Modeling a Pin-Cell” example works without any issue.
I am using the official LANL-Based Data Library (ENDF/B-VII.1) and I am on version 0.12 of OpenMC

Does anybody know what the issue might be?
Thank you for your help!

Can you try setting the OPENMC_CROSS_SECTION environment variable? This thread has a similar issue and (possible) solution

Thank you! It fixed my issue.
EDIT: Do you know if it is possible to use OMP in Depletion caclulations? I’d assume that it works, but I couldn’t figure out how to activate it, as there is no instance of “openmc.run()” in the example notebook where I could specify the thread count.
Using

os.environ[‘OMP_NUM_THREADS’] = ‘26’

didn’t activate multi-core calculation.

Thank you

OpenMP is activated by default, so your depletion calculation should be using all cores/threads on your machine without needing to specify anything.

That is strange. I was looking at my thread use and only one core was actually loaded to 100%. The rest was at idle.
Maybe I am missing something obvious, but do you have an idea as to what might be the issue?
Thank you a lot!